Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is composed of community leaders with broad-ranging backgrounds, who lend their expertise for the support, strategic leadership and oversight of the Passionist Earth & Spirit Center. 


John Borders - Chair 

John Borders is an attorney with Borders & Borders, PLC. He has served on the board of directors of the Housing Foundation, Habitat for Humanity of Metro Louisville, EarthSave International, and EarthSave Louisville.


Ed Cortas - Treasurer 

Ed Cortas serves as the Director of Consulting Services for the Center for Non-Profit Excellence and previous coordinated the financial, human resource and development functions of JustFaith Ministries. He also serves on the board of Community Catholic Center and is a member of the Finance Committee of Kentuckians for the Commonwealth. 


Jerry Weber - Secretary

Jerry Weber is the retired Executive Director of Father Maloney’s Boys’ Haven in Louisville and active within the community on non-profit boards.


John Huber

John Huber is the retired President and CEO of the Louisville Water Company. He has served on other boards including the Louisville Science Center, the Louisville Branch of the Federal Reserve, the Bank of St. Louis, the Better Business Bureau, the University of Louisville Board of Overseers, and the Louisville Marine Hospital Foundation.


Ken Jones

Formerly a mathematics teacher and basketball coach in the Archdiocese of St. Louis, Ken Jones is a retired production Superintendent for Ford Motor company. He is presently President of the Ford Salaried retirees for the Louisville and Kentucky assembly plants.


Deborra Oser

Deborra Clark Oser is the Principal of Deborra Clark Oser & Associates, LLC, a firm specializing in transformational leadership and the field of human development. Deborra received her M.B.A from Bellarmine University and has over twenty years of experience in the corporate world.  Deborra also serves as a certified Integral Coach and spiritual director.


Fr. John Schork, C.P. 

John Schork is the Superior of the Sacred Heart Retreat, the monastery that supports the Passionist Earth & Spirit Center.  He serves on the Provincial Council of the Passionist of Holy Cross Province and represents the province on the board of directors. His ministry has included work in retreat centers and provincial administration.


Kirk Szesny

Kirk Szesny manages and directs the WHAS11 creative/programming/production staff of 30+ in station marketing, promotion, design, and community service. He is the executive in charge of production for station special events and U of L Sports programming.


Carl Gallmeister

Carl Gallmeister works as a capacity manager for UPS and has 23 years of airline management experience.  He brings hands-on experience with Earth & Spirit Center programming, having participated actively in twelve mindful meditation classes and the 2012 Pilgrimage to India.  Carl has served as a Mentor for Young men at Brooklawn.


Mike Kuharich

Mike Kuharich is an Information Technology Manager at Humana and serves on the board of the Tyler Park Neighborhood Association. 


Crawford Wells


Dr. Sharon Grant

Dr. Sharon Grant is a retired hospital chaplain.  She currently serves as a retreat facilitator, spiritual director, and associate editor of FORsooth, the monthly newsletter of Louisville’s Fellowship of Reconciliation community.  Sharon is also an urban farmer and is involved in environmental work in the community.



Dr. Robb Shrader


Advisory Board Members


Tony Arnold

Tony Arnold is the Boehl Chair in Property and Land Use and Chair of the interdisciplinary Center for Land Use and Environmental Responsibility at the University of Louisville School of Law. He is the Chair of the interdisciplinary Center for Land Use and Environmental Responsibility and has previously served as the Law School’s Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Faculty Development. 


Christy Brown

Christy Brown, owner of Louisville Stoneware, is co-founder of the Center for Interfaith Relations (formerly known as the Cathedral Heritage Foundation) which sponsors the nationally recognized Festival of Faiths. She also works with Religions for Peace, the world’s largest interfaith organization dedicated to ending war, eradicating poverty, and protecting the Earth.


Tom FitzGerald

Tom FitzGerald, Director of the Kentucky Resources Council (KRC), also serves as Adjunct Professor of Energy and Environmental law at the Brandeis School of Law. KRC is a non-profit environmental advocacy organization providing free legal, strategic and policy assistance to individuals, organizations and communities concerning environmental quality and resource extraction issues


Jim Wayne

Jim Wayne has served in the Kentucky General Assembly since 1991, representing the 35th House District and is president of the Wayne Corporation. Other areas of service include the Louisville Coalition for the Homeless, Kentucky Society for Clinical Social Work, Metropolitan Housing Coalition, and past president of the National Association of Social Workers.


Sr Kathleen Deignan, CND, PhD

Sr. Deignan was the founder of the Iona Peace and Justice Studies Program and the Iona Peace Institute in Ireland (1988-1995). She is the founder and director of the Iona Spirituality Institute which sponsors a variety of programs for spiritual enrichment. Sr. Deignan is a member of the American Academy of Religion, the Catholic Theological Society of America, the International Thomas Merton Society and the Society for the Study of Christian Spirituality. She is currently a professor of theology at Iona College.


Rev. Fletcher Harper

The Reverend Fletcher Harper is an Episcopal priest and the executive director of Greenfaith, one of the oldest religious-environmental organizations in the United States, whose mission is to inspire, educate and mobilize people of diverse religious backgrounds for environmental leadership.  For its work, Greenfaith has received recognition from the Environmental Protection Agency and has been featured in documentaries on CBS and the Sundance Channel.